$5 saves 2 lives in Laos. Learn how!

8 Feb

What would you do today with INR 266 (US $5)? I came up with a list of things I would do if I had US 45. Check them out.

$5 saves 2 lives 

  • I would book two tickets at INOX for the movie Vishwaroopam
  • Or I would go to Express Avenue and splurge it on a T-shirt for DDH or a kurti for me.
  • I would buy a Bey-blade (those fancy electronic tops from Cartoon Network) for DDS.
  • Heck, I would just buy this week’s grocery – plain and simple if I was not in a mood for splurging away that money.
  • Maybe I would hire a domestic help and get all the window panes and grill doors dusted and cleaned and scrubbed.
  • I would even get my unstitched dress materials stitched into chudhidhars.

I know, I know, I can get so many things done with INR 266 (US $5). But what I chose to do today is, donate to CleanBirth.org.

This week World Moms Blog and CleanBirth.org have partnered to raise 1000 birthing kits. I am in. Are you?

How much difference will $5 make in your life? And how much difference will it make in a mother’s life, in the screams of her labour pain, in the throes of sweat and panic, lying on a bed of leaves in the middle of a dense jungle, just about to give birth to her darling baby.

I gave an extra hug to my little one thinking about a mother out there giving birth under such conditions in the village of Laos. What about you?

World Moms Blog and CleanBirth partnered to donate their FB status

World Moms Blog and CleanBirth partnered to donate their FB status

You can do a lot more things too. Check out this article on World Moms Blog. You can even donate your status on FaceBook and do a lot more. (http://www.worldmomsblog.com/2013/02/05/social-good-saves-lives-laos/)

If you are interested in donating to CleanBirth.org, please do so by clicking this CleanBirth.org. You would have made a great difference to some mama and baby out there.

One Response to “$5 saves 2 lives in Laos. Learn how!”

  1. Jennifer Burden February 8, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Awesome post, Purnima!! It has been awesome seeing $5 exchanged into other currencies! Patty in the Philippines did the same! You are doing great stuff over there, Purnima! Keep it up!

    Jen 🙂

Leave a Reply

