Insults and handling them

30 Jul

insults [default recourse of the ignorant]

insults [default recourse of the ignorant] (Photo credit: the|G|™)

Insults are a result of inferiority complex? Or insecurity? Or pure vengeance as in evil-minded? Or a combination of all the above? In any case, nowadays, I think it is funny that people are insulting, throwing barbs and generally trying to belittle people.

I was a victim of this in recent times. It was sheer fun. Five years ago, this was pure madness. I would always fume and vent out and spoil DDH’s and my alone our-time. Well, what was it worth for? And we were pretty newlyweds too. Sheer waste of fun-time, huh?! Well, not anymore, I think so.

Five years ago someone told this – “Your hairstyle sucks.”

And I think, “What the H€77? It is my hair and I love it this way.” And then I go and complain to DDH and shout and cry and give him a taste of my H€77 too.

Now today, when the same person says something like this, I think, “Hey, oldie, you have either greys or you are bald. And you are jealous of me.”

And I laugh about it along with DDH.

Have I matured? Is our relationship richer? Or are we just beyond caring for such insignificant remarks?

Ok, some of my readers who are close friends must have guessed whom I talking about. But well, what the heck, I am chronicling it anyway.

So, this got me wondering. What do people get out of such insignificant comments? Are they insecure? Or do they feel inferior compared to me and my luscious long mane? Or is it just pure hatred spawning from well… I don’t know, spawning from hatred.

But I cannot hate someone like that. Maybe I don’t love them all, but I definitely don’t think I hate someone to this extent.

So how have you handled insults? What goes on in your mind? How have you evolved beyond it?

To you all, my readers who have borne insults and been patient with people who have hurled them.

2 Responses to “Insults and handling them”

  1. Mamma_Simona July 30, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    I think that (as time passes) we learn to be more confident in who we are and are therefore more able to ignore hateful remarks. I always tell my beautiful daughter that mean comments, comments that are intended to make her doubt herself or feel “bad” have nothing to do with who SHE is and everything to do with the other person! 🙂 Whatever the reason for the other person’s “meanness”, as long as you don’t accept it as “truth” you’ll be fine!

    I recently read somewhere that “Whatever others think of you is none of your business”!! 🙂

  2. Maureen | Tatter Scoops July 31, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    I like Mamma_Simona comment above. People here often say things without even thinking that what they say potentially can be hurtful. To them it’s just a remark. I had to readjust myself to some of these comments/insults but yes I think we are the one who mature as an individual and can face them better 🙂

Leave a Reply

