Older! Wiser? Happier birthday!

22 May

So, I am 31 years old and 4 days old. Jessica wished me the happiest of birthdays and Eva called me beautiful and Anand wished a blessed day for me. Out of the 100 odd FB wall posts, these have stuck out in my mind because my birthday was all of these.

It was the happiest. I felt so very beautiful from within, from out, from all around me. I felt at peace. I felt blessed. I was really blessed. My favourite cousin spent half of his day with me. (I am using the word favourite here with a poetic license because it sounds good with the flow of the sentence.. but all my cousins are my favourites)

And the icing on the cake was that my 6-year-old son and his friends made sure that I have a party on my birthday. So they made me cut a beautiful strawberry and vanilla cake, complete with icing and cream and pink flowers with ‘Happy Birthday’ inscribed on it. Nothing and no one can top this icing (pun intended). So, today 4 days later, on my wedding anniversary day, I thank my husband for the most precious gift we gave each other, our son.

Life is benevolent!

Life indeed is benevolent if you choose to look at it with a benevolent perspective. There are people who forget you on your birthday, and there are people who go out all the way to make it memorable and show their love and passion and care for you. I wish to remember the good things. I wish to thank god for the cake… errr… for such a wonderful son and husband. I wish to remember this day with all the lovely things life has bestowed me with.

(**Sniff sniff**) This post is getting mushier and mushier…

Hey guys, rock and roll!!! Life is fun! Ignore things which give you unhappiness. They do not go away. But they do not bother you eventually.

Revel in peace and happiness and fun and togetherness and joy.

14 Responses to “Older! Wiser? Happier birthday!”

  1. Mamma_Simona May 22, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Very well put! πŸ™‚ Peace, happiness, fun, togetherness and joy …. who needs more than that? πŸ™‚ Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, and thanks for sharing, you have reminded me of how truly blessed I am too!

    • The Alchemist May 22, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      Thank you Simona.
      Sometimes we hardly realise that we need only very few things to stay happy πŸ™‚ I am glad you appreciate my post.

  2. celestealluvial May 22, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    Happiest birthday wishes to you!!!!! πŸ™‚
    Celeste

  3. evafannon May 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Your words ring so true Alchemist! And I love that your 6 year old wanted you to have a cake and party. My almost 6 year old also believes that a cake and party are a MUST HAVE for any birthday and was appalled when I said I was too old for a party (notice I didn’t say I was too old for cake though πŸ˜‰ ) We should think like them more often!

    • The Alchemist May 23, 2012 at 8:10 am #

      Eva, you wont believe me. I said the same thing. But imagine. 5 sweaty boys with a cake and my husband and I in the living room and everyone were singing ‘Happy Birthday’. I was happy, but I was also surprised. And they said, how can we have a birthday with no cake? They were sorry that they did not decorate the place. My…!! Yes, we should like them more often. Life is simpler and happier πŸ™‚
      Listen to your almost 6 year old. They know best!!! Have a cake and a party of at least just the 3 of you πŸ™‚

  4. Melanie May 22, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Happy Anniversary to you and your hubby….May God bless you enough to keep you sharing with us about your blessings!

    • The Alchemist May 23, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      Thank you Mel. Blessings are abundant in nature. I think we just have to feel it.

  5. Karyn @ kloppenmum May 23, 2012 at 3:22 am #

    Pleased you had an awesome day. πŸ™‚

    • The Alchemist May 23, 2012 at 7:59 am #

      Thank you Karyn. This has been an awesome week. First the GAVI party, then my birthday and now our anniversary..!!!
      When it rains, it sure pours :p

  6. Fire Crystals May 23, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Let me tell you something, unless you point out your age the way you did on this post, not a single person would believe that you are 31!!! You look just like a kid πŸ™‚ Congratulations on completing 3 decades!!

    • The Alchemist May 23, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Fire Crystals, Thanks for your kind words. I will take that as a compliment πŸ™‚
      It feels like I have had an amazing run – 3 decades… But still so much to do. Like Frost said, I have miles to go before I sleep πŸ™‚

  7. padma June 26, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    belated birthday wishes!

Leave a Reply

