Quality, Quantity, Compromise and an Anniversary

4 Nov

I was speaking to my ex-project coordinator yesterday. Well, technically, not speaking, but chatting up on the virtual world! Something he said, stuck out from the conversation and that was, now you are earning quality money, writing.

Well, I actually earn only about less than ten percent of what I used to earn working as a software engineer, designing car electronics. I used to crib the whole day. But I cribbed at work, I cribbed at home, I even cribbed here at the blog.

my instruments :)Now, I quit for various reasons. Maybe if you want to know why, read this post later. So, now the extra income is missing. But we as a family are having a quality life. Quality care for my DDS, Quality care for DDH (though he never admits it), I mean I think of him at least eighteen times more often now, than I used to one year ago. So, isn’t that quality remembrance? And it is with fondness. (Ok, he won’t ever believe it, but anyway, there, I said it!) 

So, the point is, now I earn quality money, enjoying what I do, enjoying my work, admiring the product of my efforts, and actually loving it. I love what I write and I hope the readers do too. So, quality money (but well, less).

And a huge compromise it is! I can not really afford to not have the money. But there, I have gone through one year of existence without my income. I have learnt to be dependant on the DDH. I have learnt to be frugal to some extent(Ah, the DDH wont believe this either 😀 ). I have learnt to compromise on things and not feel bad about it.

I have learnt to live the purpose of my existence.

And happy one year anniversary to myself for making it. (Technically it is one year and one month, but you can all wish me anyway, because I am announcing it now… lol 🙂 )

 And thanks PKAdka, for reminding me of the memories 🙂 .

P.S: The irony of the image is that I wanted to symbolically say that one (the keyboard which I used as a software engineer) was my earlier cake winner and the other (pen as a writer) is my bread winner. But ah, well, in the digital age, gifted to us by ex-software engineers like me, I sadly use the keyboard now like earlier :(. Perhaps, later sometime, I would elucidate the joys of writing something using the pen :).

Photo credit to http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Keyboard_and_pen.JPG

8 Responses to “Quality, Quantity, Compromise and an Anniversary”

  1. Seashell November 4, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    You are brave enough to try to live your dream. I think that is wonderful. I, like many others, are not as brave and have made choices, good or bad, that have led us to need the extra income.

    • The Alchemist November 4, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks Shell 🙂

      I dont know if I am brave or not. Some would prefer to call me a fool too :p
      Well, the decision is made and I have been living it for an year.

      You are definitely brave too. I learnt you are frugal too. Having extra money and not splurging it is indeed wise and brave!!

  2. PriyaSayeesh November 4, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    CONGRATS 🙂 🙂 You are now LIVING ur dream and yes “Quality” money is better than “quantity” money if u know wt I mean 😛 And think abt people who also took took similar decision but not even thinking abt “Quality” money.. (Again I hope u understand wt I meant 😛 😛 ) So u definetly are brave …. and I m happy for u…

    • The Alchemist November 6, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Thanks Priya.

      Ya, totally understand 🙂 Everyone has something special and unique within them. The first step in bravery is recognising that! The pics of your dishes are absolutely delicious!!!

      [**Take the hint!!**]

  3. pkadka November 5, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Sorry for reminding you of quantity money… 😦 enjoy with your quality money… :):)

    • The Alchemist November 6, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

      Danke Danke padka. Your apologies are NOT accepted :p

  4. Ruth November 6, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Hi! I come to know about your blog through WMB (I’m a new writer there!) and reading about your experience in becoming a writer reminds me of my own journey 🙂 It’s interesting to think of the money that we earn as “quality money” and it’s a nice perspective 🙂 Congrats on your ‘anniversary’! Continue to dream dreams and see them come true one step at a time!

    • The Alchemist November 6, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

      Thanks Ruth. Nice meeting you here. Am sure we are going to have blogging fun both at WMB and our personal blogs.

      Isnt it beautiful when each dream becomes a step of the journey called life?

Leave a Reply

