DeCluttering, A 5 y.o, Visitors and oh, ME!

3 Nov

                 

It all started with visitors. I am not much of a decluettring person, or a great home maker when it comes to keeping the house neat and tidy. Oh, yes, it is clean and does not have much of a dust, I should say. But everything in its own place? Oh, that’s just not me, sorry!

So, it happened, last week! Visitors were expected and it was Diwali and guess what?

Good Housekeeping periodical...

Good Housekeeping periodical...

  

The shelves were dusted, the attics were vacuumed, the windows, panes, and doors, door frame polished, furniture arranged and rearranged, the book shelves decluttered, the kitchen cleaned, scrubbed and tidied, and the never-ending possibilities in creating a ‘good housekeeping magazine’s poster page’ discovered. I managed all this with the toddler at my heals. I cajoled him into helping me, sometimes yelled at him to leave the room because of the dust, at times, just accepted the fact that his presence is part of my life!

The home became a museum, a temple and everyone was shocked.

The husband was amazed.

My parents were proud.

The toddler was tip toeing.  

And I was smug! And I was exhausted! And I was happy!

The house felt beautiful. I bet if it had life, it would have admired itself umpteen times in the mirror.

DeCluttering is very therapeutic. It is wonderful. It is a serene feeling to inspect the beautiful product of your effort.

And now, one week later, the house is back a home. Yes, right, it is back to being my home, DDS’S home, DDH’s home. A place where we feel at ease, where we relax, where we find solace within ourself, amidst the things strewn around, and well just our home.

The story had to have a climax, right? So, flight back to reality and loosen up.

Its “life”, after all! And home is where its heart is 🙂

                              

5 Responses to “DeCluttering, A 5 y.o, Visitors and oh, ME!”

  1. Bharath Kumar November 3, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Good Short one, and brings the smile. The climax is almost what my wife used to about housekeeping….

  2. The Alchemist November 3, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Your wife is right 🙂

  3. Seashell November 3, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I have been slowly decluttering our home in preparation of moving to a smaller home in the next few years. The good thing is that no matter how much I sell, donate, or throw away, it always looks lived in. My house is a home, like yours, not a furniture showroom. Much more cozy!

    • The Alchemist November 3, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

      Ah, I know the feeling. My house is minus so many things now after Diwali, but its back to being a home, cozy and warm. My abode!! 🙂

      And, I always felt smaller homes are easiest to maintain and manage. So, good luck!

  4. Jeanne March 3, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    It is always nice to have the house like that, but if it stays that way for too long, we become its slave to keeping it that way and then can lose our focuson more important things. There are always bigger fish to fry than cleaning, but I sure do enjoy it, too … for that short time it is spotless.

Leave a Reply

