My rendezvous with solitude

1 Apr

 

Most often early to late evenings, when the sun sets, I have my daily appointments with solitude. She is the most charming person I have met and best companion till date. Oh, I am not a lonely person at all and I like to be surrounded by the people I love. But then in this world, when an E Mail travels faster than thought, in just a fraction of seconds, I need that time alone on my terrace, a communion between my heart and outwardly nature, sometimes accompanied by my son.

Gazing at those skies, bright orange ball of fire in the evening touching the horizon, sometimes with my evening cup of tea, sometimes with just my laundry basket, sometimes with a chatty toddler at tow – this is the most pleasurable time of the day for me.

Even if I wake up early, not being the early morning person I am, I have to get breakfast and lunch ready for the men and pack it and send them off hurriedly to their work place and school respectively. So, I barely get to drink my morning luke warm cup of tea. But evenings are sheer pleasure and on most days I manage to snatch these few minutes alone.

I imagine where Trantor is or Terminus is or Solaris is. Oh, they are fictitious and exist in Asimov’s world. But somewhere, life exists in other forms, out there in the Universe. And our juvenile mind cannot fathom its significance or presence. And we don’t even know if we exist out there in the universe at different time slots in different space coordinates. Heck, we don’t even know we need this time alone with ourselves unless we have started having it.

Sometime alone in communion with nature, gazing at skies, stars, (even just random Tom and Jerry or dragon or dinosaur clouds gazing like my son says) would do wonders to the soul, and soothe the mind. It makes you rich and strong. Experience gives you wisdom, they say, I say solitude gives you strength and clarity. I feel it to wash away the murkiness, ripples, and slush from the calm lake of my mind. I don’t know how to explain this. But I needed to record all this here for you all to read and experience and find joy in.

Earlier before my tryst with solitude, I thought I had all the peace within me. But now, I know I have gained so much more by just sky and star-gazing alone. Solitude does wonders to one’s persona. You all should try it too someday, all days.

8 Responses to “My rendezvous with solitude”

  1. Seashell April 1, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Beautiful.

  2. Veronica Samuels April 26, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    I love, love this picture!! If I lived closer, I’d come have tea with you! 🙂

    My new solitude has been to take my shower before I go to bed, instead of rushed in the morning. It makes the mornings less stressful and makes me more relaxed at night. I’d say it makes me sleep better, but I have an 8 week old, so what’s sleep? 😉

    I love the way you linked to World Moms Blog on your site! We’re so happy to have you writing with us!

    Veronica Samuels 🙂

    • The Alchemist April 29, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

      Just holler, if you plan to visit India. I would love to have you here.
      I am most honored to be associated with World Moms Blog too.

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum April 27, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I love the picture too. I was getting some time outside in the early morning light and loving it…then the autumn rain began. sigh. I do love sunrise and sunset, they are very special times and I think should be spent in silence.

    • The Alchemist April 29, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      Thanks Karyn. I love the slight drizzle during sunset. Not too much, just a few sprinkles though.
      And silence is precious, a very rare treasure, which I have discovered.

  4. Akshay May 16, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Hey poornima tats really nice yaar… well long time where have u been… just mail me whenever u can…

  5. RP August 14, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    The picture is very nice. You took the snap? Or sourced from anywhere?…

Leave a Reply

