Facebook brought me a smile :)

4 Jan

Do you guys remember the day I wrote about My Peace? Well, I mentioned about those peaceful times I spent and still spend at my childhood home. There was one thing though I missed out in that post and that was my school. It was not a very famous school back then, just a nice school with good teachers and good students. So, whats so special about this?

Everyone loves something about her alma mater and so do I. It is the peace and happiness of my existential moments during my school going days. I loved the idyllic days spent lazily eating lunch under the trees in the school ground, after school hours strolling along the roads, teaching bicycle to my best friend, M, the guys in my class, especially this S (who triggered this blog) making fun of us when they came to know of this, we ignoring them and certain other friends who were not really best or close friends, but well friends anyway.

I mean life was wonderful. Studies were stress free too back then. We dint top the district or the state, but we were not bad either. We were amongst the top ten rankers in the class and we were happy about it. Our parents dint really stress us out for more either.

So, what triggered all these memories? Facebook – though I know this sounds really really clichéd, there is nothing else I can do, other than say the truth. I was pleasantly surprised and truly happy, when I received a friend request from a classmate. I knew this guy, like say, since we were both 5 or 6 years old. We studied together for more than 10 years together. But we were not best friends. We just knew each other and back then, girls and boys in our school did not speak much with each other  unless you know, they were cousins, or siblings, or neighbours, or whatever. I mean, there should be a really specific way you knew someone of the opposite gender for you to speak with them. All this gradually changed when we came to senior high school and we all evolved like any normal society should and became normal.

So, I just had so many memories of S getting triggered because of his friend request and this led to so many other memories of so many other classmates whom I knew and not in touch with.

I remember S’s granny bringing him lunch everyday. She also gave him one chocolate every afternoon after lunch and we all getting jealous of him. I do not know how long this went on. But I knew he did get chocolates from her very often. She lived very close to school. She was short and thin just like him. Once in high school he even told me that his mom is working on her doctoral degree in tuberculosis. We were awed. I could be wrong again, So, S, if you are reading this, correct me. I also remember the day he started wearing glasses. He was the star for a few days among a few of his friends. He was mostly an introvert. But spoke with a few extroverts like us. Oh yes, I was one back then, though now, I do not know, how and why I changed and went into this shell. Oh, this qualifies surely for another dedicated post.

I also remember the times, we used to collect and exchange stamps. I always suspected him and his friends for losing a few stamps. And just now I teased him of stealing my stamps back then in high school and he good-naturedly accused me too. I knew most of the things happening in his life until we were in the same school and we lost touch for the past 8-10 years or so.

I just wonder, how an automated E Mail from FB could trigger all these happy memories of childhood. And to me, he was not even special. I mean, no guy was special back then, except of course my father, who I think is one of the best things which could happen to me, other than DDH and DDS.

These last couple of days I was flooded with so many memories of a lot of my classmates, not just S, that it just felt good to be nostalgic and reminisce about the good times spent.

Yes, Facebook, Orkut and networking really gives some very positive things too. Other than the crimes reported and evils of them, things like these happen too. And S is of course a very nice guy and am I happy to be in touch with him again.., of course I am!

I can almost hear Bryan Adams crooning in my mind’s ear, “Those were the best times of my life”.

S, this post got sparked off because of you,  and yes, I know you are surprised like I promised you 🙂

12 Responses to “Facebook brought me a smile :)”

  1. Shalini January 4, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    You brought my schooldays memories back 🙂

    • The Alchemist January 4, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      I am glad I could bring that smile on your lips today 🙂

  2. Shalini January 4, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    something that came to my mind:
    WhenThe school reopened in June, And we settled in our new desks andbenches!

    We learnt writing withslates and pencils, andProgressed To fountain pens and ball pens and then Micro tips!

    When we chased one another in thecorridors in Intervals, and returned to the classroomsDrenched in sweat!

    When we had lunch in classrooms, corridors,Playgrounds,under the trees and even in cycle sheds!

    When a single P.T. period in the week’s Time Table,Was awaited more eagerly than the monsoons!

    When cricket was played with writing pads as bats,And Neckties and socks rolled into balls!

    When few played “kabadi” and “Kho-Kho” in scorching sun,While others simply played”book cricket” in theConfines of classroom!

    Of fights but no conspiracies,Of Competitions but seldom jealousy!When we used to watch Live Cricket telecast,In the opposite house in Intervals and Lunch breaks!When few rushed at 3:45 to”Conquer” window seats in our School bus!

    Days Of Sports Day,and the annual School Day ,And the one-month long preparations for them.
    the stressful Quarterly,Half Yearly and Annual Exams, And the mostenjoyed holidays after them!

    Gone are the days….But not the memories, which will beLingering in our hearts for ever and ever andEver and ever and ever …..Gone are the Days…. But still there are lot more Days to come in our Life!!

    NO MATTER HOW BUSY YOU ARE ,DONT FORGET TOLIVE THE LIFE THAT STILLEXISTS…..

    • The Alchemist January 4, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

      Wow Shalu 🙂 That was really poetry..!! You could not have described us and our school better.. Pen it down soon in your blog or lose credit 😀

  3. Puneet Arora January 5, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Indeed, for me too, it brought back the wonderful memories of my school days. Thanks to you and Facebook.
    Whatever you have stated here is a common phenomena to most of us, but the way it is expressed is sparkling 🙂

    Puneet

    • The Alchemist January 7, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

      Thanks Puneet. I am happy to have brought out that smile for you too 🙂

  4. RP January 15, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Unlike girls, boys when they turn to adults they get changed beyond recognition. Big moustache, eyeglasses, baldness, etc make them hard to recognize.

    I too had few experiences of finding someone whom i never met after my collage days. However, because of their natural disguise it is always hard for me to recognise them. Only after multiple e-mail chains on discussing our collage day fun would allow me to create some trust that I am talking to someone whom i knew in my past. Still a cautious mind runs as a background task 😦

    • The Alchemist January 15, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Ha Ha… so you mean men turn older and beyond recognition sooner? I couldnt agree lesser 😉

      Its wise to be cautious. But you, I blogged about this friend whom I knew like all my life, all through my school and college days. We just lost touch after that. It was a sheer joy to discover each other’s presence 🙂

  5. RP January 15, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Another small correction in blog ( if you don’t mind)…

    Bryan adams line read as “Those were the best days of my life” (Summer of 69)

    • The Alchemist January 15, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      RP,
      (**with a bow**) I stand correct…!!! You must be right with the lyrics.

  6. Saradha February 10, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    You have triggered so many memories of lovely school days !. Very nicely put.
    I still remember S, grandma and the chocolate !!!.

    Catching up on playing chess during intervals and lunch breaks, reading Nancy drews and Hardy boys under the desk, those school tours, house teams… I am sure the list would go on, but the best 14 years of life !.

    • The Alchemist February 10, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. So, we all remember ‘S’.. ha ha.. Afternoon chocolates and grandma was enough, I see.
      But yes, those wonderful school days are ever fresh and what we would not do to get back one day from 14*365 days.. 🙂
      Resenting certain classes because of the stern looking lecturers, looking forward for certain others because they were fun, interschool competitions, literary associations, after school games practise, the list goes on … Yea, so nostalgic. And the exchange of library books secretly between us, because it was against rules to exchange and read more than 1 book per week… ha ha… lol…

Leave a Reply

