Home brewed flavored tea for the winter

22 Dec

HOME BREWED FLAVORED TEAS

You know, I am not much of a lover of food especially. I am not a picky eater, either, contrary to the opinion of my close associates. I just do not think I really need to eat or drink something because it is healthy or tasty or whatever else, unless you know, my stomach is rumbling and I need to do the needful.

So, well, but there are certain things which I really love and savor the flavor and taste, but they are so few and I do not like to relish them so often. As in do not want them to start feeling familiar. Absence does make the heart fonder.

And tea is one such aromatic drink whose flavor I like and savor. Certain flavors feel almost heavenly. And now I have taken to brewing the flavors at home and I have listed below a few of the flavors which I have tried. It has come out great, better than the commercial shop-bought flavored tea.

So, here we go…

  • FRUITY TEAS

As a general rule all fruity teas, should be brewed with the tea and the juice of the fruit added later on, just before sipping it. It should not be boiled along with the tea. Less amount of sugar can be added than usual, because of the sugar content already present in the fruit. Cream can be very minimal or totally avoided to experience the exquisiteness of the fruity flavor. Below are some fruity varieties which I brewed at home.

  •   Lemon Tea:

Few drops of lemon juice squeezed out from the lemon fruit will do the trick. Firstly, brew the tea and then add lemon juice in it just before sipping, not sooner. Do not add the lemon juice while brewing the tea.

  • Raspberry Tea:

Same as above, but you would need to add a lot of raspberry juice than the lemon juice. Atleast a quarter of the cup is necessary for the flavor of raspberry to be prominent.

  • Strawberry Tea:

This tastes almost as Raspberry tea and the preparation is also the same too. For aesthetic appeal, slivers of strawberry can be made to float after brewing and adding the strawberry juice.

  • Peach Tea:

I did not like peach tea as much as I loved the above fruity teas. But then, it came out better than the shopped ones with freshness in it which I did not find in the purchased flavored teas. The preparation for this is also same as above.

  • SPICY TEAS

This also comes with a general rule which says; boil the spices in hot water along with the tea leaves. For better quality of the flavor, mix the spice with the tea leave in the same jar and store. Add less than normal sugar to this too to enhance the flavor. Cream is good with this, it does not kill the flavor.

  • Cardamom Tea:

There is no need to powder the cardamom. Since it has already been stored with the tea for a few days, the flavor would be strong already. So, just boil them all together, and savor the spicy tea, swirl it around your tongue for a while and then slowly drink it, if you are for sensory pleasures.

  • Pepper Tea:

Same rule as above; no powdering for better quality of flavor, just boil the pepper corns with the tea and enjoy the flavor for a sore throat. Trust me; this is the best medicine for a bad cough, sore throat and runny nose. Drink it thrice a day for three days and see the miraculous effects. You won’t get the same problem for at least three months 😉

  • Ginger Tea:

The mode of preparation of this is a combination of preparation of fruity and spicy tea. Take a few fresh slivers of ginger and boil them in water with the tea. The aroma of ginger tea is almost heavenly if you like this specific spice. This is also very good for a bad throat and severe cough.

  • Masala Tea:

This actually has a recipe and is not like the rest of the above teas which boasts of a single ingredient in its preparation. Take black cardamom pods, seeds from green cardamom pods, cloves, fennel seeds, carom seeds, dried ginger powder, cinnamon and pepper corns in equal quantities. Roast them for a minute or lesser and grind them. Now add a teaspoon or more while brewing your tea or afterwards just before sipping it. This concoction is actually very tasty and savory. The exact quantity of each spice mentioned here can also be varied according to ones taste and preference of certain spices over the other. Certain other spices can be added and few others which I have mentioned here can be removed to customize your own masala chai to flatter your taste buds.

  • AROMATIC TEAS

These are more for the smell while brewing than the taste.

  •  Lemon grass Tea:

Few strands of lemon grass boiled with your tea keeps arthritis away and lend pep to a late evening sip.

  •  Mint Tea:

Boil a few leaves of mint and brew your tea for that after dinner drink.

  • TASTY TEAS:

Oh, these are my naughty experiments…

  • Chocolatey:

I think I can christen chocolate tea as chocolatey 😉 Add a zingy quantity of chocolate syrup to your brewed tea for a fun and party evening.

  • Vanilla Tea:

Vanilla essence in plain tea feels really royal. So does rose essence. Or even real rose petals boiled with tea.

I am not a professional tea taster. I do not even know if that is the right word or if there is some other exquisite word for tea tasters like there are sommeliers for wine tasters. I just love my late afternoon and early evening cuppas. And since RP asks me now and then, what tea I brewed on that day, he would probably enjoy reading this. Otherwise, it looks and feels almost like a recipe post, which this blog is not 🙂

6 Responses to “Home brewed flavored tea for the winter”

  1. pobept December 23, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    Many of your tea’s sound delicious. Got to pass this blog to my daughter.

    • The Alchemist December 28, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

      I hope she likes it as well and makes delicious tea 🙂

  2. RP December 24, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Basically I am an addict of caffeine particularly filter coffee. Coffee of any type\flavor have fascinated me always. Though a staunch fan of coffee, I do have tea sometimes. Plain preferred but for flavored I would vote for spicy teas & lemon grass (which was introduced to me accidentally in a THAI restaurant where this is the only dish/drink I liked).

    With the experience in the cookery u can start posting about dishes in a separate page. Then your blog might be a multifaceted one 😀

    Having done with tea, why don’t you start ur research on wine? You might make good deals in the country. 😀 Also I would ask about your wine making experience now and then… See how motivating iam 😉

    Anyway iam happy too see ur blog with a new “flavor”…

    And many thanks for remembering my enquires about your tea making experiences now and then 🙂

    • The Alchemist December 28, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

      Oh no, not at all. I am not interested in starting a recipe blog. That is for the experts or atleast for those who aspire to be so.
      Wine? I am a teetotaller.
      I am glad you liked this post… and my my.. what a huge comment… Guess you got very excited about tea making. All the best 🙂

  3. Radhika Sen Gupta January 19, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    yummmyyy!! 🙂
    p.s: The above reaction has been brought forth merely by reading this post! Rushing to try some now! 🙂

    • The Alchemist January 19, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      Thanks. Hope you enjoy tea brewing as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

