What is this blog about?

17 Sep

 

The Alchemist's Blog

The Alchemist's Blog

My friend asked me, what is your blog about. I told him to check out the categories or my archives. He did. He still asked me again, what do you write passionately about? If I pen something down, it means I have been passionate about it. So, let me summarize what inspires me to write blogs.

  

Is this a parenting blog? 

Parenting and being a mom

Parenting and being a mom

 Oh yes, definitely. I vehemently agree with the scriptures that a woman is complete only when she becomes a mother. In fact my name, in my native language means, “Complete woman”. You know, like this pic in the right which says, a woman should be perfectly capable of going to work, make home and keep it clean, have kids, bring them up, not complain about liberation and equal rights, be an ideal wife. I can hear my husband muttering, “liar”!!! 

ok, whom am I kidding? I will try once again and this time, the truth – I am not all the above though I could be a fractional, miniscule, unmeasurable percentages of all of the above. 

In any case, here I am, chronicling my awesome parenting journey of being a mother. Parenting is not just a fairy tale life with joys and love spent idyllically, it is also a time when one screams and wishes to pull out her hair in frustration too. And sharing my woes and pride with other parents definitely makes this more interesting, tolerable and joyful. It is like the pic in the right, only the normal, average woman is never successful in her juggling, but keeps collecting and picking up the jugglable objects from the floor. 

 

Is this a writer’s blog? 

WRITING

I swear I do not write like that!

 Yes, it is. Rather an aspiring writer’s blog. I write among other things about my passion for writing, love for words and hopes to become a published writer. Like my oft quoted phrase, “If only wishes had wings and hopes could fly on brooms…” 🙂 I would be famous immediately. The only thing I ever passionately did and kept up with diligently, without giving up is writing. I wish I saved all that I wrote. Now, though we have these blogs and other forms. But earlier then, I didn’t realize that this could turn up to be my most precious dream. I remember a few things I wrote for my school magazine, though. So now, I am writing two different genres, two different novels. When I get bored with one, I jump to the other. I have not yet faced any writer’s blocks, just lack of time to complete them both. I will be blogging more about my books. 

 

Is this a blog about my home and family? 

Yes, I also write about my childhood, my DDH, parents, brother and what ticks them off, what makes them happy, my relationship with them, and everything and anything I feel. My world revolves around them too in addition to my DDS. 

Is this a personal blog? 

Yes, it records my everyday feelings, my experiences which I have shared here and here and here. This blog keeps an account of my joys, my rants, my awes, my ramblesmy peace. It keeps an account of every feeling I wish to share with this world. 

Is this a book review blog? Literature blog? Poetry blog? 

Yes, Oh yes, I have written many reviews, and shared a few. I will share a few more in the future. Yes, my love for words, poetry and literature can be seen through my entries. 

Is this a cookery blog? 

Yes, perhaps in the future, I would also share my culinary skills with my audience. 

Is this a shopping blog? Entertainment blog? Music, movies? Media? 

Sorry to disappoint you, folks! I love them all, but cant work myself up enough to write about it. 

Is this a sports blog? Is this a technology blog? Is this a health blog? 

Negative on all scores 🙂 Not my forte at all!!! 

This blog is about… 

Writing is communicating with someone. And other than you guys reading this, I wish to believe that perhaps this blog and my private words and write-ups is like a communion for me.

13 Responses to “What is this blog about?”

  1. yuvani September 17, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    Agree with you on all counts, but why dont you do movie reviews as well, music as well… am sure you’d rock that also!! Looking forward to more reads as you take a full time plunge into the world of words 🙂

    • The Alchemist September 17, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      Sure, I would love to write about music and movies too, but like I said, it does not work me out enough to make me passionately rant about it.
      Maybe I will give it a try soon 🙂

  2. Ram September 17, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    and now that u are bidding adieu to the office .. i think this might be an interesting space to watch with ur relaxed and laid back approach to other things..probably a V2.0?.. :).. let’s see .. anyways.. keep penning as always .. we are always here for the ‘communion’..and look forward to seeing more of ur writeups

    • The Alchemist September 17, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

      Ya sure Ram, with not much things to keep me occupied, I guess my attention and affection towards these spaces will increase 😉

      See, thats the worst part of leaving this office… I will miss the gang!!!

  3. RP September 17, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Cookery blog??? Does your DDH plans to start a blog for himself? 😉

    • The Alchemist September 17, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

      If my DDH plans to and starts a blog, I will surely let you in on that one.

      BTW, if that was an infradig aimed at my culinary prowess, let me tell you, I am fairly good enough with DDH appreciative of that.

      And BTW, whats wrong in DDH starting a cookery blog? You think cooking is so difficult that men cant do it? 😉

  4. Ramadevi Rajgopal September 17, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    Yeh! Its good. You should definitely start writing for the magazines. your writings have life and speak for itself. Continue writing

    • The Alchemist September 20, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

      Thanks. I will 🙂

  5. Arun Venkatesan October 2, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    I like the last line.Communion.

    • The Alchemist October 2, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

      Thanks Arun 🙂
      Keep visiting..!!

  6. Nicole Griffin Eakin February 16, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I will have to agree. I love the line regarding communion. I would like to be your blog buddy for todays prompt. I have 2 blogs. I would like to use my writing blog which is called Headtrauma. Please advise!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review: Alice in wonderland « My feelings, My ramblings, My peace - September 20, 2010

    […] goes my movie review as requested by […]

  2. 2010 in review « The Alchemist's Blog – v 1.0 - January 3, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was September 17th with 151 views. The most popular post that day was What is this blog about?. […]

Leave a Reply

