7 things you do when you are happy or sad

11 Aug

7 things you do when you are sad

  1. Lock yourself in your bedroom, wail loudly, or weep silently, basically cry it out.
  2. Call up your best friend and vent and rant about your situation, circumstance, and explain how upset you are.
  3. If you are a very private person, perhaps, write out your feelings in a blog like this or write it in a personal diary.
  4. Try to forget your sorrow by trying to occupy yourself with some of your favorite things, like read an all time favorite book or watch your favorite TV channel or rent out your favorite movie DVDs
  5. Perhaps if you are very inspired with the nature poet(wordsworth), take a hike in the woods, or go to your favorite holiday spot like a beach or lake for fishing, or gaze longingly and forlornly at the greenery and natural scenes around you.
  6. Go out on a shopping spree, they say shopping is the best anti-depressant. It is almost an addiction. Physical shopping is better than ebay. I have shopped on ebay, but the charm of actually seeing and feeling the things you want to buy can never be out done by internet.
  7. And lastly, well, get on with life. It happened! Now it is over and you need to move on and so you decide to put it back and start on a fresh lease of whatever gave you your sorrow.

Now, moving on to the better… ๐Ÿ™‚

7 things you do when you are happy

  1. Revel in your happiness in your favorite place of the house, preferably in the bedroom or even the living room. Relax, lay back and think about it, basically relish it in our system.
  2. Call up all your friends and share your feelings and gush about all your blessings.
  3. Write out a blog like this or your personal diary and explain why you are feeling on top of the world.
  4. I think people would like to read their favorite books.certain books are favorite because it either creates a feel good feeling or it has some message which we are constantly looking out for, or it coaxes us to become what we ought to become or helps us in some way. It could be fiction, non fiction, science fiction or even the Nature poetโ€™s collection of poems.
  5. People would still love to vacation when they are in a nice mood, like go to the beach, visit the park, garden, or watch the sunset. They would still love to be charmed more by nature than they already are.
  6. Yes, shopping gives a higher high than the high one is already in and in happiness, one would still want to do that.
  7. And well, yes, one is happy, but what the heck, duties still are to be completed, responsibilities still remains and one hasto get back to work and life well, goes on. Like Frost said, โ€œThe woods are lovely dark and deep, but I have miles to go before I sleepโ€. So, well, yes, I am happy, but I have to go back and do my job!!!

Now, go back and read point 1 of โ€œwhen you are sadโ€ and point 1 of โ€œwhen you are happyโ€ and then point 2 of the first one and point 2 of the second one and read them all. How different are they? We do the same things always, no matter what we feel. Life turns out the same way always and yet we are either happy or sad or at peace or agitated. So, why what we feel matters so much for things and people and life?

When I am sad, I mop for days, sometimes weeks together and do not know why I do it. Things do not improve or get worse. They just are what they are always. I just get used to it and hence feel that things have improved because my mind just got used to them. If things would have been different, I would still get used to them in a different way and move on. So, why this myriad of human emotion? I always wonder.

Like they say, fact is stranger than fiction.

Disclaimer: Neither am I an amateur shrink, nor am I a quixotic person. I just have my crazy moments when I sit down and think. Sometimes I tend to ignore it, sometimes they get the better of me and get penned down. This is one such instant. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 Responses to “7 things you do when you are happy or sad”

  1. RP August 11, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    #1 is something i used to do often. Even when i feel angry on someone or something ๐Ÿ˜ฆ . Nowadays don’t do that much, as not sure if my style have changed or don’t feel much on either side.

    Another thing i do often is go to the terrace of my house & be alone. I get a feel that i am on top of all only with the sky above me ๐Ÿ˜‰ . I feel elated much. Better try this once & let me know ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. The Alchemist August 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Ha Ha… not planning to try out anything. Thats just the point. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Planning to transcend beyond such emotions ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Thanks for your comments. Keep visiting!

  3. Anuradha August 13, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    7 things you do when you are Sad – would take 4, 6 , 7

    7 things you do when you are happy – would take 1 or 2

    • The Alchemist August 16, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks for your first comment on my blog Anu ๐Ÿ™‚
      Please keep visiting and share your valuable insights ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Aaron October 9, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    ๐Ÿ˜€ Nice post
    When I hear somebody sigh, “Life is hard,” I am always tempted to ask, “Compared to what?”-Sydney J. Harris
    Always give your best.Always be happy.

    • The Alchemist October 9, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

      Yea man ๐Ÿ™‚
      I know, some great man said, “A truly happy man is one who is happy at all circumstances”. Maybe we can come very close to it if we tried enough ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

