9 things any work place should provide for women

11 Aug

  1. Flexibility to work from home when a woman has advanced well into her pregnancy or when early on during pregnancy she has to be “safe” with her baby.
  2. Flexibility to work part time for certain phases of her career like when she has a toddler who needs her attention for the better part of the day.
  3. No late night shifts or late night extended working to meet customer deadlines or in the event of such unavoidable circumstances, provide transportation back home and security personnel with her during drop in case she is unfortunate enough to reside in a potentially less safe locality.
  4. No gender bias or apparent gender bias even if it is absent. It is very demotivating and disheartening; I would even say disgusting. And no performance based comparison with a male with respect to gender issues.
  5. No gender bias or the dagger looks by bosses when she takes gossip breaks. After all guys take gossip breaks too in addition to smoking breaks, but I do not understand why it does not get noticed.
  6. A women centric community or work groups/unions or an intranet community portal for women to discuss women-centric problems, woes, and just rant. Talking about things just makes one feel better whether a solution is obtained or not.
  7. In corporate office which has a large turnover when they can provide cafeterias and gyms, I feel it is more prudent to provide a play area or day care for children of mothers who have just delivered and also for those  who need to keep their kids somewhere for a couple of hours after their kindergarten/school.
  8. No extra questions or medical certificates to be demanded when a woman calls in sick and applies for sick leave for just a couple of days. After all when men are eligible for two sick leaves per month, women are entitled for more. We just do not want to create a fuss so we just let it go.
  9. If you have read so far, then I would even suggest fashion outlets here and there just like vending machines, fashion magazine on the coffee table along with Chip magazine and the daily newspaper. What the heck? I need to know what J Lo wore last night to be able to work efficiently today, don’t I? Ok, I am exaggerating. I just think more variety in magazines around the coffee table is always welcome, more clubs and activities and general peppiness at work place to keep the spirits high. But men would vouch for this one too 🙂
9 Responses to “9 things any work place should provide for women”

  1. RP August 12, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Do you really think #1 would work? For many, during their pregnancy, the main priority would be taking care of them than the work. Initially the work-balance might seem comfortable, but as days goes by priorities will change. I would better suggest for having a vacation & relax. 🙂

    This is my view as i never experienced this and i won’t 😉

    #7 looks pretty much reasonable & I’ve heard that few companies provide this facility. For sure, you can have the satisfaction of taking care of both (child & job) 🙂

  2. The Alchemist August 12, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Ya, #7 does look good. Having a long vacation is definitely nice, but for people who do not want to lose touch, they could think of this too.

  3. yuvani August 12, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Ha!! For 4 years i have repelled all the dagger looks with my thick skin 🙂

    Totally agree with all your points and were they to happen would certainly be a god send 🙂

    • The Alchemist August 16, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      lol… right..!!! But God does not send these simple things so easily.. know what I mean..!!! 😉

  4. Anuradha August 13, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    I would like to add one more point….
    Planning offsite meetings on weekends and asking for justfications when they do not attend.. and start saying at back… ‘Yeah.. any offsites you call.. she would not attend…”

    • The Alchemist August 16, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      Hey Anu, perhaps, someone should tell them weekends are weekends and supposed to be holidays even for them 😀

      And … feel free to add more points. I know it does not stop here 🙂

  5. Prathibha September 29, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    Your first 8 points were so sensible, so awesome – I agree – every organization needs to provide these. But with the 9th point, you trivialized all of them – bringing in something silly like that trivializes so many issues that are genuinely important, that you yourself raised.

    • The Alchemist September 30, 2010 at 6:19 am #

      You have been sitting on a design for 2 hours, something is alluding you. And you just need to get up and walk out somewhere. And you need to do something which you love doing as way of break. I love to read about Fashion, movies and Chip magazine when I need to unwind. And 15 mins of break at the lounge with a chocolate from the vending machine and I come back to my desk at least with a fresh perspective to the design. It happens!!! There is nothing trivial about it. Light casual reading is a great energizer and stress buster. Try it out sometime.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is this blog about? « My feelings, My ramblings, My peace - September 17, 2010

    […] my experiences which I have shared here and here and here. This blog keeps an account of my joys, my rants, my awes, my rambles, my peace. It keeps an account of every feeling I wish to share with this […]

Leave a Reply

