MY FAVORITE ENGLISH WORDS – PART 1

23 Jul

MY FAVORITE ENGLISH WORDS – PART – 1

So, I have come up with a list of five words which I like a lot. Maybe I will come up with Part 2 eventually, but for now, read on 🙂 

Serendipity – To accidentally discover something. It was rated as one of the 10 most difficult words to translate and guess what; it has a Sanskrit origin… Did anyone guess that part yet? Probably not. I love the specific pronounciation of each syllable, the combination of one syallable after the other. I feel music rolling over my tongue when this word is uttered, though I am not a vocalist like Ram.

Carpe Diem – Enjoy the present. What better reason than this, to love this word? It’s the best phenomena which could happen to everyone present in this universe at the same instant. If the collective mind has more power than the sum of all the minds involved, then just imagine the power of tranquility and well being settling over the universe for atleast just that instant and after that, with so much powerful carpe diem having existed, can anyone go back and not feel the same carpe diem? I would love to think of that feeling pervading all around forever 🙂

Love – affection, devotion, endearment, and some more words along the same lines. But well, I would like to think of love as “THE” feeling. The only “ONE” feeling worth feeling is perhaps love. Sometimes I am tempted to think that rather than the word, it’s the feeling I have fallen in love with.

Rendezvous – Basically, a French word pronounced as “rondi voo” which means to meet. The pronunciation and the spelling are so many miles apart, but yet, this word makes one take a second notice, like that exotic damsel with a partial veil.

I do not know why I like this word, maybe because it sounds exotic? Or maybe such a simple act of meeting has such an unusually romantic pronunciation. Or maybe I like French. My mother knows some French and so does my brother. I would like to learn basic French some day.

Shangri-La – Aaha, I wish I can visit this place some day. The ultimate paradise of peace on earth. It is a simple word but conveys infinite bliss and delight together. A poet could write realm after realms of poetry with just thoughts of this single word. This supposedly peaceful place is situation somewhere in Himalayan Mountains near Tibet. What better place for Shangri la to be than the Himalayas, the most beautiful young fold mountains. I love this word, the feelings this place evokes the very essence of such a tranquil existential concept.

So, can anyone find out these favorite words within the grid shown below???

Do not post the answers, just drop me a mail 🙂 

Word Grid

You have the whole weekend 🙂

9 Responses to “MY FAVORITE ENGLISH WORDS – PART 1”

  1. B.Ramprakash July 24, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I guess that Shangri-La is made famous by “The Mummy”. For me not only the “Shangri-La”, but any place located in himalayas is very much heavenly. Guess “Satkol” is a close relative of Shangri-La.

    Carpe Diem – It suggests a lot to all of us. To be honest, this is the first time I come across this & thanks for the intro.

    Rendezvous = ron-dey-voo or ron-di-voo? I knew the former one, later one??? No idea. Anyway if you say so, it should be correct 😀

    Others – No much fascinated. So looking for your Part-II 🙂

    • The Alchemist July 29, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

      Nope. not ron dey voo, but ron di voo.
      So, there you are… I just posted Part 2. 🙂

  2. yuvani July 26, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Well….heard of so many favourites…but favourite words is a first!!!

    All I can say is, I dont even know what my favourite colour is…. so a favourite word is pretty far fetched 🙂

    Nice compilation though….

    • The Alchemist July 29, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

      I should perhaps say words which fascinated me rather than favorites. And well, if I think more, I should say the meanings of these words with respect to their sound and pronunciation is what fascinated me.
      Anyways, I came up with part 2.. in case you are interested… 🙂

  3. sujeeth July 29, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    i think u must give these to ashwin to map the words in the chart..
    shangri-la i think is mythical and does not exist according to many archaelogists.. and some think otherwise..
    ive known this word since long from the time i used to read phantom comics from thyagu.. i hope u remember… 🙂

    • The Alchemist July 30, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Yes, remember the good old Thiagu Days when we keep reading and reading and reading all day long during summer hols 🙂
      And Shangri-La indeed is that imaginary place. Oops, I dint mention it above. BUt it would be great if it were real 🙂

  4. Ram July 30, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Hmm.. the words are exotic alright,.. why i observe all ur favourite words here are related with emotional experiences, all exotic themselves 🙂 , and no doubt used well across classic literature.. just an observation :)..
    and btw i now see u r an expert in etymology too .. !

    • The Alchemist July 30, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

      Ya, I am glad I have had my share of exotic experiences all through my life, with them still pouring over.
      And I like words, alright! I like languages, alright! I like literature 🙂
      Am not an expert in etymology… the more you learn, the more you realise that you are aware of only the cliched drop in an ocean…!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My favorite words – Part 2 « My world revolves around you - September 14, 2010

    […] and Misc ← MY FAVORITE ENGLISH WORDS – PART 1 Rain, always you rain…!!! […]

Leave a Reply

