MY PEACE

13 Jul

MY PEACE  
                                  

The following are the 10 things I could associate with my peace . 

  1. Five years ago, I visited Satkol, a small town at base of the Himalayas. It was meant to be a spiritual journey. And no true seeker returns empty handed. Yes, I did inherit vast spiritual treasures; I also felt so at peace amidst the snow clad peaks. It was a wonderful experience to just be in the most serene and tranquillest of all places ever. I have uploaded a pic of the place here. 

    Satkhol

    Satkhol, Himalayas

  2. When I gaze at the sleeping form of my four year old. They say the most peaceful sight is that of a baby sleeping. I think whoever said it, said it true. I can keep watching him sleep for hours and hours together and think of absolutely nothing. It’s really stand still experience.
  3. Laughing with my son while playing his most favorite game – urundi vilayathu (basically translated to roll over game). He and I just roll over each other on the bed with really no rules or scores for the game. I do not know how he came up with the game. But on weekends, we get around to playing this game at least for a dozen times for stretches of half an hour each. It’s basically senseless.
  4. Visiting my childhood home of 25 years. I grew up there. Those rooms, the backyard, the kitchen, the terrace, the compound walls, the bathrooms, the store rooms, the garden, basically even just the air around in that place share so many of my secrets, my joys, my hurt, my fears, my worries, my happiness, my pain, my pleasures, my risks, my treasures, my learning, my loving things and people, my losing things and people, my friendships, my trials, my tribulations, my successes, my failures, my LIFE. Some things in life are always cherished only fondly, can never be traded for anything, never be forgotten and just is, what it is. It can never be explained ever too. My babyhood, my childhood, adolescent life, even the most significant thing in my life till date – entry to motherhood were experienced within those walls. Perhaps, happiness is the word for the feelings I experienced there, but then I am so grateful to God for really those wonderful years of my life. Like Bryan Admas’, Summer of 69, I could also start singing, “Those were the best times in my life”…  Those rooms of my ancestral home know each and every tiny bit of me and myself. Oh well, I will put a full stop to my gushing. This topic deserves a separate post of its own. 
  5. I have this really feel good feeling every time I read the book, “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho. His oft quoted words – “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it” is so much more powerful and subtle all at the same time than most of the self help books and positive thinking books. I mean, don’t you get this “All is well” feeling when you listen to those words? And I have this immense sense of well being after reading any really good book, even the likes of Hobbit, even though it’s for a younger audience.
  6. Watching the rain from my balcony, getting my palm and feet wet, enjoying the rain with my son, sometimes getting drenched too and giggling crazily 🙂
  7. Yeah, Food. Woman and Man born need to live to be blogging everyday. So after a hearty meal of vathal kuzhambu satham, butter roasted potato curry, Thayir satham and avakai oorugai (Traditional South Indian vegetarian delicacies), one could call life peaceful and fulfilled.
  8. A way to man’s heart is through his stomach. So, the look on my DDH’s face after I serve him with the above mentioned food on a weekend afternoon is definitely a gift from the Gods. I am planning to take up cooking everyday, shortly soon and hopefully I impress him everyday.
  9. A long hot bath after a very hectic day. Nothing like just relaxing in a steamy bath with eyes closed.
  10. Awaiting DDS and/or DDH and when they arrive from wherever they went to, at the expected time and without further delay, the day is definitely blissful.
  11. I did promise only 10 points. But I just could not resist this last one. After I receive at least 10 comments to this blog and every other blog from DDH,  Ram, Yuv, the other Ram, Nar, Vij(she rarely logs her comments, the cons of being her cube mate, she just voices it and gets on), Sha, Mik, Vid, Kar and the rest of the gang 🙂
16 Responses to “MY PEACE”

  1. yuva July 13, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Peace is when you know you have followed the entire ‘V” process and completed your task on time….. completed all the reviews….. got the cluster up and running…. not injected any defects…. ready for the release much ahead of time…done very effective testing…. and finally made the release. And you manage to get atleast one genuine, from the heart word of appreciation. You can call that peace.

    But peace being such an elusive thing…. you never ever get any close to that feeling….

    Sigh 😦

  2. sujeeth July 13, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    im feelin sad too DDS…
    im missin our home too..
    but the saddest part is vll be missin it permanently in a short while.. i dono whether to be sad or angry ??? peace is definitely elusive if ur ambitious about anything… jus as ur frnd “yuva” has posted

  3. Ram July 13, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    Nice compilation :).. nothing could provide more gratification than a hearty meal of vattha kuzhambu and orrugai or potato roast ..
    I could fill up the rest of the 10 comments on ur other points.. but let me stop for now
    @Yuv .. release has taken too much toll on you it seems.. hope u find ur peace soon .. btw i have abandoned finding definition of peace in elusive things like these :)..
    (P.S: Satkhol looks beautiful)

    • The Alchemist July 13, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

      @Ram,
      You are welcome home anytime to check out my culinary skills 🙂

      @Ram, @Yuv,
      Guess you both need to think “out of the box” to be at “peace” as far as release and appreciation is concerned 😉 KWIM 🙂

      @Suj,
      Life is like that… But then Life is also beautiful 🙂

  4. Vidya July 13, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Can relate well to points 2 and 4. Close to my heart:)

    • The Alchemist July 13, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

      @Vid,
      I know what you mean 🙂

  5. narasimhan July 13, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Glad you have so many things that can give you peace.:).What I have seen and experienced in my short tenure with life is that peace to humans is like shadow to a lamp.You can see it from far,but the closer you get,the farther it goes.

    So all I can say is congrats,you have found peace in so many things that are very much happening in your life.Keep revelling in the joy of these things,and I must say your life will definitely be more successful and a better experience than that of most people around you.

    Peace is hard to get DDS,and I’m once again glad you’ve found so many sources of it. 😀

    And yes,its peaceful to watch a kid sleep,but I’d like to add my nephew is extraordinarily sweet and cute,so its natural to find peace looking at him 🙂

    • The Alchemist July 13, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

      @ Nar,
      I will let your nephew know that you said this 🙂
      Perhaps it is in the nature of certain things to be elusive so that people realise their worth and recognise their importance.
      And if you badly want/need something, you will definitely get it. Guess you already know I am impressed with “The Alchemist” 😉

  6. stilladreamer July 14, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    I absolutely agree – “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

    We often most learn to brush away the cobwebs – often of our own making – and allow our ourselves to truly want something, whatever it is, and then allow it to come to us.

    Lovely post.

    • The_Alchemist July 16, 2010 at 10:10 am #

      Thank you so much for visiting. I follow your blog regularly and like it 🙂

  7. Manohar TS July 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    Haha , Yuva is right , it was always elusive at office even after following all the process, reviews etc , the cluster used to always reset before the release.

    Great days

    • The_Alchemist July 16, 2010 at 10:12 am #

      Hey, ya, its pretty much the same still.
      And thanks for stopping by. Keep visiting 🙂

  8. B.Ramprakash July 21, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Phew…. At last managed to post my comments…

    Regarding the food first, onion vattha kuzhambu and micro waved potato roast is the menu you can have in my house on every weekend (at least 99% for sure). The combination is very much heavenly. (having filled my stomach till the neck level & suffering because of that is a different story, but a lovable one :D)

    For the childhood memories, they are still green in my heart. Those are days where I used to have fun with my relative gangs at my granny’s house in kumbakonam. We would play to the core as if the world is coming to an end the next day :D. If time travel is a reality, this is one thing that I wish to try first. 

    Watching the rain with hot milagai bajji bites, looking at some old pics where you look at yourself as a kid, with a grin, hmmmm

    Guess, everybody has a similar kind of list to cherish… One day I wud share mine coz I’ve got a place to post now…. 😀

  9. The Alchemist July 21, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Sure. Waiting to read your posts 🙂
    And thanks for your comments!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is this blog about? « My feelings, My ramblings, My peace - September 17, 2010

    […] here and here and here. This blog keeps an account of my joys, my rants, my awes, my rambles, my peace. It keeps an account of every feeling I wish to share with this […]

  2. Facebook brought me a smile :) « The Alchemist's Blog – v 1.0 - January 4, 2011

    […] you guys remember the day I wrote about My Peace? Well, I mentioned about those peaceful times I spent and still spend at my childhood home. There […]

Leave a Reply

