Making a decision…

9 Jul

Sometimes, perhaps most times, decisions are so tough to make. This is not me alone. I believe this is a common malady amongst the brethren of humanity. I am reminded of Frost’s poem, “The road not taken” where Frost says he comes across on the road a bifurcation and that he is forced to choose one of the two paths. And he chooses the road least trodden. Every time I read that poem, I keep wondering what really made him do it, other than what is explicitly said in the poem.

The last line says, “That made all the difference”. Yes, very impressive and contemplative, but he never lets us on to what difference it made to him.

And taking decisions which means to follow your heart or trying to realize your dreams is like running away from the safety net. But not taking these decisions and just living the same life and avoiding the decisions perhaps makes no major difference in one’s life. Neither does it have any impact in his efforts to the society or humanity; maybe he is spared the fear of the trotting the unknown road. All the difference that is made amounts to maybe what he encounters in the unknown ways – hidden demons or serene angels.

But dreams always remain that – dreams, if one does not have the courage to take the plunge towards the unknown. Sometimes, yes, most times, some decisions are like a one-way road and you cannot traverse back to undo the decision you took and take the other most trodden path. You just have to live with it and try to like it.

But since man inculcated the power to dream, he also has it latent within him, to realize his dreams in the path he chose even if he faces hidden demons in it.

That is what a great Man once told me.

So, well, I tried to summarize what I felt these past few days and penned them down here. You are welcome to share your comments as always.

DECISIONS

 

When the whole world told,

It’s a wrong decision many fold,

But felt by me as precious as gold.

    

The path to the future diverged,

Two roads for the goal emerged,

Take the most trodden, all urged.

   

But did I not have the choice,

To listen to my inner voice?

Causing many to not rejoice.

   

The frail green grass, least trampled,

Beckoned my heart which so entangled,

Had caused noetism to be dismantled.

   

Deciding to run away from the safety,

Of the most trodden route of the county,

I resolved to plunge into apparently the ghosty.

    

But should anyone doubt the heart’s power?

It’s unfathomable if it can ever make a blunder,

A gift it is, when acknowledge as your lover.

   

So, I am walking, marching, towards my goal,

On the path destined by nature for my soul.

On this day, gratitude to the Almighty,

For showing me the way, a beauty.

18 Responses to “Making a decision…”

  1. yuvani July 9, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Profound!! I am sure you have it in you to rock this new path you are taking. Theres no right or wrong, its all about the follow up! Live it up lady:) And may God be with you!

  2. The Alchemist July 9, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Thanks Yuv 🙂

  3. Ramchandar July 9, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Decesion is the root cause for any differences happen in life 🙂 ————> and decison is precious as gold —– what is the present cost of decision in market hhhhhhhhhhhhh 🙂

  4. Karpagam July 9, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    It was a gud one. i must say a timely one 4 me:-).
    These words “But dreams always remain that – dreams, if one does not have the courage to take the plunge towards the unknown” meant a lot.

    • The Alchemist July 10, 2010 at 10:46 am #

      Thanks Kar.. 🙂
      Hope it gave you some clarity of thought.

  5. Vidya July 9, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    ‘The road not taken’ is a Bible of sorts for me:) A good one. Keep writing.

    • The Alchemist July 10, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks. Will do. You keep visiting too 🙂

  6. ss ramakrishnan July 9, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    it is good. someone says to you about follow up, you think of that, and be grateful about guidance. go up, many steps to go yet. but the poem is beautiful.keep writing and read, meditate on love, and it alone can remove all pollutions and poisons in this world. So it is LOVE which is most important try to bring it into everyones life, by poems, novels,stories, everything.

    • The Alchemist July 10, 2010 at 10:32 am #

      Yes, Thats Yuvani who says that. I pray, God gives me the strength, will and guidance to be and do what ought to be done by me.

  7. Narasimhan July 10, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    The way I see it,there is nothing which one can classify as a “right” or “wrong” decision in life,basically becauseright and wrong lies in one’s perception which is by itself very dynamic and unreliable.So whenever you reach a fork,do not ask yourself “In which path am I sure of success? “,but “In which path,even after failing,I will have the satisfaction of having stood and fought,and the joy of the ride irrespective of the destination”.

    • The Alchemist July 10, 2010 at 10:38 am #

      Very true bro, like the bard said so too!!!

      But we do not know in which path we will have the satisfaction or the joy of the journey itself, unless we take the path and most often we do not have the choice of coming back and redoing the decision.

      But like you said, perhaps, we can make the best of our chosen path and understand that God made us chose that for a purpose and try to fulfil that.

      Thanks for your profound insights. Keep visiting 🙂

  8. Narasimhan July 10, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    What you say is true,but as Joseph Campbell has said,”The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are”.Your choices shape the way your life goes,and know that every decision you take should be done more out of choice than compulsion.

    If that happens,you will automatically find pride in the fact that you wrote your life script,and however haywire or splendid it went,it was ALL YOURS. 😀

  9. Ram July 11, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    A very good writeup and has seemingly setup a good debate on each own’s perception of choices.. yes, the decision being about the journey or destination itself varies from person to person.. regarding the ‘road not taken’ further up seems to suggest that the travel through ‘untrodden paths’ will not mostly be a pleasant one, while it has been chosen for its own benefits…
    and ur silent tears seems to demand some tranquility of mind and thesaurus :),things impossible for a hazy sunday morning mind.. let me get back on that

  10. The Alchemist July 11, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    @ Nar:
    You know what I like best of JC – “Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors where there were only walls”. I dont know much about the guy except that when I hear his name, the phrase, “follow your bliss” pops up in my mind. So, the specific path chosen for the sake of either the destination or the journey, if it can give one happiness because of having chosen it, well then the purpose is achieved.
    And, no, I am not putting a full stop to our discussion. I welcome your intellectual insights 🙂

    @ Ram,
    Yeah Ram. LIke I already said, whatever one is happy about 🙂
    Yeah, the untrodden may not be pleasant. Infact it has a higher probability of not being pleasant, but perhaps, it could give satisfaction and a sense of purpose because of having chosen it.
    You too, keep visiting and keep sharing 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contemplating … | My world revolves around you - September 13, 2010

    […] just four weeks I will be relieved from my job. I wrote about the day I actually took this decision here. The trigger for my quitting my job is here. So, in less than a month, I will be at home taking […]

  2. What is this blog about? « My feelings, My ramblings, My peace - September 17, 2010

    […] it records my everyday feelings, my experiences which I have shared here and here and here. This blog keeps an account of my joys, my rants, my awes, my rambles, my peace. […]

  3. A career woman turned homemaker. « The Alchemist's Blog – v 1.0 - January 14, 2011

    […] the day I quit my job? The day I actually officially gave my resignation letter? I wrote about it here. And the day I wrote about my feelings about the trigger? Well, I have come a long way from […]

  4. I dont blog, I write. « The Alchemist's Blog – v 1.0 - January 29, 2011

    […] to record those things in my daily life which touch me deeply, life like things I wrote here and here and here. Oh, otherwise, I live a very boring existence out here in […]

Leave a Reply

