Happy Birthday DDH

7 Feb

One of my closest friends from school days, you know the best friends types, the girl with whom I spent my entire 12 years of schooling, asked me something one day. Lets call her Lady-M. No, before you make the assumption that she should be of the James Bond’s boss types, let me tell you, it’s just that her name starts with M and she is far from the ‘M’ types. She is a very soft, gentle woman. For example, one of these could be her name – Mahalakshmi, Mamtha, Maria, Meghna, Moushmi, Maya.. well, the list goes on you know and she is a bit internet shy if you know what I mean ;), so I would just call her Lady-M. And she is one of my bestest friends.

So, well, what did she ask me? Her fiancé’s birthday was just round the corner and she wanted me to give her ideas for a gift. So, I initially suggested she should get a watch, you know if not the Abhishek Bachan Omega types, something equally good and of a lesser fortune. Well, money spent to gain entry to a man’s heart is money well spent. But at what cost, she asked. At the cost something similar to an Omega watch, I said. She was not convinced. And I was not about to give up. It was his special day, once in a year and it has to be remembered well later too. Ya, there’s next year too and this day is long forgotten before the next year’s birthday. So, I asked her to take it as a challenge and do something different and memorable. I casually asked her how old he was going to be and she said thirty. So, I jokingly said maybe she should give him thirty different gifts and then it would be truly memorable.

The matter was long forgotten.

Now, flash back over. Coming back to the reality of the present. It was my DDH’s birthday in just over a week and I was wondering what I should gift him. And I had this idea in a flash, why not give him as many gifts as his age is going to be. And I started listing out the items I would need to purchase. It included a cell phone, head phone, sun coolers, a book, a pair of keychains, a famous deodorant, after shave, tie, socks, jeans, t-shirt, … Wait a minute, I am not divulging his age 🙂 Its just that I came up with as many gifts as his age was going to be and gift wrapped them all painstakingly a day before his birthday. I spent about two to three hours doing this. And I actually must have spent atleast six to eight hours coming up with ideas for gifts and ruling out certain thngs and revisiting certain items. And I spent more time than all that shopping for them all.

I dint feel tired or funny or strange to be wrapping up thirty odd odd-balls. I just had this sense of achievement and strange happiness of accomplishing something. Wait a minute; don’t I have a three year old who is surely going to be disappointed if he finds out that nothing out of the wrapper is a gift for him? So, I decided that he will also enjoy the gift unwrapping session and threw in gifts for him too like a crayon set, chocolate boxes, bubble blowers, polo mints, a soft toy… I came up with eleven gifts for him to enjoy his dad’s day and gift wrapped them too for him to unwrap them later on along with his dad.

Did I mention earlier that I had taken half a day off from work to purchase all these and wrap them all? I had done that because I tried leaving early and going late to work which dint work out because of the amount of work I am usually submerged with. Anyways, I was worried that my husband will discover that I am not at work and I have not yet ever lied to him and don’t intend to and I could not come up with anything that I would be telling him if he asked me why. Not that he minds me playing truant, but well, there needs to be a reason or there need not be a reason for that matter and I can just chill at home. But well, you know, at least when he asks, I had to come up with something.

So, there, as he reads this, he is going to find out anyway 🙂

So, well, it was 11 PM on 4th Feb. and I was wondering if I should start the gift unwrapping ceremony. After all opening 30 odd gifts is surely going to take at least half to one hour and then we had to ‘ceremoniously’ cut the cake at the strike of twelve. And my son had school the next day too. So, I decided that well, why not start the gifts unwrapping ceremony at 11 PM itself. It was after all the eve of his birthday.

My son and husband were watching Kung Fun Panda and emulating Kung Fu actions on each other. Oh yeah, they show their love for each other through such things. Earlier it was wrestling. Now the latest trend was Kung Fu or whatever actions they could come up with and term it Kung Fu. Well, I brought the huge duffel bag into the bedroom and asked for attention. My husband was looking at me like, why a bag? Ah, you are strange as always. And my son screamed, “gifts”. I had taken him as my confidante in this and mentioned earlier that all this gifts will be unwrapped during the night and that he can help appa for this. And man, was he happy? He was in the seventh heaven. He felt like everything were supposed to be for him.

So, now, DDH got the huge duffel bag with all the gifts. Oh, there was another bag too because the duffel was not sufficient. It is an understatement if I say DDH was surprised. He dint expect anything of this order. I mean he was too shocked to even speak. He kept looking at me and I asked him to go ahead anyway and unwrap them all and they were all his gifts. My son jumped in and accelerated the process and I have uploaded a pic of the floor scattered with gifts. My God, they were both so happy. It dint matter what gifts were actually inside the wrapper. They were just happy to keep opening packages.

The wrapped gifts, part of the duffel bag visible and my DDH 🙂

 

The last gift parcel was the Nokia 5800 cell phone. I had recorded my son singing, “Happy Birthday Appa” in it and set it as the default ring tone. And I casually handed over the package and rang the phone at the same time and he was surprised to hear his son’s voice from inside the unwrapped package. Surely he guessed that it was a cell phone ringing… but what better way than the apple of his eyes wishing him from inside a parcel. Well, I should say, sometimes I am proud of myself too 🙂 ha ha.

Then we all blew the candles, I should say my son blew his dad’s candles and cut the strawberry cake and started eating it. And, Oh man, the dad was enjoying his time.

I am sure DDH had never had a birthday of this kind and I don’t intend that he have it again because I need to come up with one more extra idea for a gift if I have to do the same… Ha ha… Anyways variety is the spice of life and next year, I will come up with something different like I always do.

Lady-M, if you are reading this, I think you should also probably someday do this. The way to a man’s heart is surely through his stomach, but there’s a shortcut too – making him happy 🙂 🙂

21 Responses to “Happy Birthday DDH”

  1. Vinod February 7, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    only you can write such humorously i guess :)).

  2. The Alchemist February 8, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    Ha Ha… I wish…!!!
    Being in the same league as Bill Watterson constitutes as humor 😉

  3. Ram February 8, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    I think after all this we could proclaim you as the official gift advisor for all of us.. i think that cellphone gift with recording ur son’s b’day wish was ubercool.. btw don’t u think it’s a bit much pressure for ur husband when it’s his turn :).. or r u just being suggestive in anyway :)..

  4. B.Ramprakash February 8, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    “It dint matter what gifts were actually inside the wrapper. They were just happy to keep opening packages.”

    This is one gud line that caught me very well. BTW, tell me something…how come all the wives think alike !…

  5. yuvani February 8, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Purnima, by birthaday is in september and I am turning 50….remember 🙂 🙂

    Ps:I am you new best friend!

  6. The Alchemist February 8, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    @ Yuv: Sure dear… I will remind you of your age at all opportune moments 😉

    @ Ram: No suggestions. I am actually proud of my DDH, because he is more original than me in many ways 🙂

    @RamPrakash: Really? Tell me something… Dont you feel equally joyous to be receiving a gift (the concept of gift as in someone loves you, cherishes you, remembers you)…???

  7. Rak February 8, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Nice Puma.. Vinod is very very lucky! 🙂

    • Vinod February 8, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

      @Rak: enakku thanpa theriyum…..

      • Rak February 9, 2010 at 9:06 am #

        Common man.. say something nice about her.
        Do u have a blog where u write nice things about her too?

  8. Vidya February 8, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Ummm.. your husband is lucky:-) Belated B’day wishes to him…

  9. The Alchemist February 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    @Vidya: @Rak: Thanks. I will let him know 🙂

  10. Karpagam February 9, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Vinod shud be so lucky to have u in his life:-)

  11. Shalini January 3, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Too good style of gifting, but too late for me to read it, my he turned 30 last week :(, may be I try something for the next yr 🙂

    • The Alchemist January 3, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      Shalini, Its never too late for anything. Maybe in another 51 weeks, you could try the same thing or something better and different.

      My DDH reminds me that his b’day is just a month away. But nothing this expensive this year. Lets see, but definitely as creative or more 🙂

      Belated birthday wishes from all of us to yours.

  12. Radhika Sen Gupta January 19, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    My best friend did the same thing for me on my 18th birthday! It’s such a joy to open so many presents! 🙂
    And I’ve heard that it’s even more satisfying to watch someone open the gifts you gave them and squeal in excitement (my reactions always! :P) so I hope to do something similar for someone in the future! Will definitely take ideas from this..!

    • The Alchemist January 19, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

      Oh you should, most definitely. Its so much fun to do that to your special someone – to be a part of that love and joy which you created.

      And if you decide to post about your 18th birthday gifts, let me know, I would love to read it.

  13. MaryTenderLOS November 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    How about some watering cans, or little toy buckets that can hold both water and sand. The Glatorian Legend is the second last installation of Lego’s unique Bionicle series. What’s a good gift for a 10 year old boy? Is this suitable for a 10 year old girl?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Post Ideas « My world revolves around you - May 14, 2010

    […] out the passion to write about something. Translates to, I write when an incident like this one or this one or a thought works out my passion 🙂 Like for instance, every Monday coming into work requires a […]

  2. What is this blog about? « My feelings, My ramblings, My peace - September 17, 2010

    […] I also write about my childhood, my DDH, parents, brother and what ticks them off, what makes them happy, my relationship with them, and […]

  3. 2010 in review « The Alchemist's Blog – v 1.0 - January 3, 2011

    […] Happy Birthday DDH February 2010 14 comments 4 […]

  4. 2012: My blogging predictions! « The Alchemist's Blog – v 1.0 - December 31, 2011

    […] wonderful birthday and write about the joys of being an obedient loving wife. (*** Did your read this post? I promised myself I would never ever do this kind of thing ever in my/his entire longest ever […]

Leave a Reply

