THE OPPOSITE OF LOVE

11 Oct

is not hate. It is indifference. These are not my own words, I read it somewhere and I have been thinking about it for a long time. I love a lot of people and I don’t love certain others. Ofcourse I am looking towards loving the whole universe and hopefully that will be accomplished soon. But then until then, my so called lack of love towards certain people does not amount to hate. Do I really hate those people I don’t love? I have been thinking much about this. Someone said I hate them because I don’t love them. I would say, “fine, whatever…”. But I really cant label my feelings as hate. Hate amounts to a very strong dislike, a strange feeling that demands an action. And when I think about it, I would not want to waste my time thinking of what are those acts I would like to do upon those whom I am not yet able to love.

When I think about love, I think it’s a very strong feeling which is natural and spontaneous and requires no specific thoughts or voluntary thoughts. It’s a spontaneous thought which sometimes, one does not even realize that one possess. For instance, I don’t remember when I started loving my husband and it was not voluntary act I wanted or intended in my conscious mind. It sort of “just happened”, even though that sounds clichéd, that’s precisely what it is. I cannot remember when I started loving my son or my parents. I mean, was it there since the beginning? Or did it grow upon me? Well, whatever it was, it was and is. The feeling does exist and crept in without any effort and it feels natural to have the feeling.

The absence of any of these strong feelings does not amount to the presence of any other similarly strong and powerful feelings like hate. Infact the absence of love is definitely not hate. And the absence of hate is not love either. See, I don’t hate Shah Rukh Khan or Aishwarya Rai. But do I love them? Ha Ha, definitely not. I don’t love a certain colleague at my work place. But I definitely don’t hate him either. I mean, he is what he is and I am what I am. I would prefer to steer clear of him.
So, I would very much vouch for the fact that the absence of love could be apathy or indifference. The absence of hate could also very much mean indifference. This very beautiful and necessary word in the English literature would leave a lot of things unsaid and unthought-of about which is actually very good. I would say indifference is a very nice feeling when you would like to think about it, or when you have time to think about it.

Hate – some dictionary says it’s a very strong feeling amounting to a strong action. Ha ha, I would not want to act upon people whom I don’t love. Would I? Steer clear of them, I would say!!!

These are people whom I am indifferent about. Well, I would like to love them, but I have to wait and pray for it to happen naturally.

Oh well, no feelings are wasted on them, neither is time. I have so much to do in my life. I have so much more love to be given to my only son, so much more tasks to accomplish, finish my unwritten story, think about my doctoral and post doctoral researches, paint all those paintings which is still to take form, the designs latent in my heart and many more unnamed and unfelt things to accomplish. Where do I have the time to spend “hating” someone? It’s a mistake to term the lack of love as hate. I would say indifference suits the feeling better. Like, you know, the most irritating word, “whatever” suits the feeling better.

For the love of life, I would say, lets try to love all and pray for it to happen naturally and stop thinking of the lack of love as hate, rather it could a feeling not worth analyzing or thinking at all. Meanwhile, creative energies are better spent on things/persons one loves. Maybe that’s better in a way.

3 Responses to “THE OPPOSITE OF LOVE”

  1. Ramkumar October 13, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

    i wud say love and hate are the opposite edges of a scale saddled on indifference.. the neutral pt or the tip.. but as u said .. whatever..:-)..nice post

    • The Alchemist October 14, 2009 at 11:50 am #

      Thanks Ram. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is this blog about? « My feelings, My ramblings, My peace - September 17, 2010

    […] what ticks them off, what makes them happy, my relationship with them, and everything and anything I feel. My world revolves around them too in addition to my […]

Leave a Reply

