Child is the father of man?

29 Sep

So, I just edited my custom header to what you are viewing now. Yes, it is this picture with my husband and son on a beach. I have titled this header as “The child is the father of man”. Now, I am no literary genius, but quite familiar with certain famed classics.

That precise poem by Wordsworth goes this way, “My heart leaps up when I behold a rainbow in the sky.” Now, we dint see a rainbow, but we did see beautiful waves and these waves with no apparent origin to the viewer suddenly forms in the middle of the sea and laps at your feet. I have always been fascinated with these waves in the sea.

I always used to wonder why these waves die at my feet when I was five. But these thoughts died as soon as they were formed, because there were more waves attracting me, beaconing me to play with it. So, well, my trysts with these waves and seas and my precise thoughts about these goes a long way off.

And now I was wondering if my son were thinking these same thoughts or some other thoughts. I dint want to influence him with the thoughts I used to think when I was his age. But neither did I want him to think nothing of it; because he had to recognize and appreciate the sheer awe and power of nature. But come on, he was only 3 years old and in his innocence he could not think any heavy thoughts. Anyway, I dint interfere during the fun time that was going on between the three of us and allowed it to continue.

I strangely felt that my son being helped by my husband to have fun in the waves was helping us too. He was helping us to enjoy the waves too and to respect nature too.

Of course my hubby dearest is surely helping my son in the waves. He was at first scared of the waves touching his feet. So, then slowly we made him get over that fear and in due course of time, he was happily enjoying the lapping waves. He was jubilant to be drenched from head to toe by a single huge wave, but all the while holding on to either me or his daddy. And we made sure that all the while, one of us was holding onto him. So, he thought he was not scared anymore, because the greatest mom and dad were there to save him from anything, oh, forget the word, “save”, no harm would dream of befalling him, because of the presence of the greatest daddy and mommy.

But well, retrospectively, I think, was he not helping us to feel fulfilled with life? No, I am no amateur shrink. But every time I am in his company, I am both relaxed and rejuvenated at the same time. It is as if he has given us a new leash of life. The time spent at that beach was very happy and fulfilling and also contemplative. Perhaps, my son has made us more alive than we were in all the 25 plus years we have lived.

Or perhaps, the zest for life is rebound with more vigor than before. Yes, joy and force of life is more now after his arrival. Perhaps, he helps us more than we think he does and perhaps more than we actually help him.

So, now coming back to Wordsworth, I have pasted his poem below.

 

 

My heart leaps up when I behold
A Rainbow in the sky:
So was it when my life began;
So is it now I am a man;
So be it when I shall grow old,
Or let me die!
The Child is father of the man;
And I wish my days to be
Bound each to each by natural piety.

 

      

 

Well, Wordsworth had children. He even writes about his daughter Caroline in a poem. Surely, he knew the joys children give the parents. What good is a rainbow if not viewed through the eyes of a child? What good are the waves and seas if not also viewed through the eyes of a child? I do not know now what all my son thought of the waves and the sea. Perhaps he will let me on in it at the opportune time. I do not even want to ask him about it, unless he himself wants to tell me about it. But he had a good time, I am sure. He was happy and so I was too. And my husband a very difficult man to please and bring upon a smile on his lips had many on, on that day.

Maybe the title, “The two men in my life, helping one another” is also not a bad choice. And retrospectively when I think of Wordsworth and what he meant by “The child is the father of man”, I am not sure anymore if he meant that the son executes his father’s businesses, the way he attends to it after the father is gone, the things he does molding his father’s ways, judges, appreciates, criticizes or forgets.

Or is it about the father living life again the way he did when he was a child. Is it about the child’s thoughts being the primary thoughts in his life? A child’s early days when he enjoyed a rainbow, a beach, a stroll along the woods, being the basic way he views life as. Respect and reverence to the power and beauty of nature?

Perhaps, Childhood is the educator of manhood?

You be the judge 🙂

7 Responses to “Child is the father of man?”

  1. yuva September 30, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    Hey! This is very beautifully written. The best so far 🙂

  2. The Alchemist September 30, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    Thanks Yuva 🙂

  3. Vinod September 30, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    You write so well. It is nice to read your thoughts. Do keep blogging regularly..

  4. Ramkumar October 5, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    Your write up is deep with rich contemplation.. if it were me i could have just dismissed it as a child just having fun at beach 🙂

  5. Shalini August 6, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    As good as in ‘Abiyum Naanum’

    • The Alchemist August 9, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

      Thats such a wonderful compliment. Thanks 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is this blog about? « My feelings, My ramblings, My peace - September 17, 2010

    […] write about my childhood, my DDH, parents, brother and what ticks them off, what makes them happy, my relationship with them, and everything and anything I feel. My world revolves around them too in addition to my […]

Leave a Reply

