My fancy garden and cute gardeners

31 May

Gardening and me? Oh, they are at two ends of the spectrum. Once long ago, when I was still in primary school I used to be interested in this, but then later on as I grew, well, ahem… I should just say I grew up!

So, now in this new house, my husband, being the enthusiast he always is in trying out new things and then handing over his pet fancies to me took up gardening. Rather, he made me take up his left over gardening. And thank you sir, I was always faced with the question every evening, “Did you water the plants?” And I always used to fidget and search for excuses and diplomatic ways to say “No!”

The plants were still kind to us. So, check out this spring’s attractions at our place. It is not much, but it is too much for two souls like us who have not been generous with our love for the greener souls. But we promise like every other day, tomorrow will be a better day and our love will improve and show.

Check out the banana plant. You can see green bananas just about ripening with traces of yellow. In fact I can say that this is the only fruit/vegetable bearing plant which has not yet ditched me.

The first Allamanda bloomed in our garden. It is also called butter cups, bell-flower, trumpet flower and so many other names. I am not particularly fond of yellow colour, but hey, these flowers are in my garden, they are mine, my husband is ecstatic. So, well, I am happy, anything which makes the DDH (dear darling husband) happy.

Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way. I wish this tree dude grows up soon so that I can decorate him by December with bells and trinkets. It’s been a year, but this dude loves his height apparently.

My mother loves Jasmine. I love jasmine tea. My friends gave me Sri Lanka Jasmine tea. I absolutely loved the flavour. But the DDH dude and I refuse to pluck flowers from our garden. Heck, we refuse to harm any parts of these green souls. So, the jasmine stays in the plant and perfumes the gardenJ. And oh, by the way, you would also know by now, that this dudette is a zilch in photography.

My Spinach bed! I hate to eat them. The DDH dude loves to eat them. I always come up with excuses for not making spinach dishes and he comes up with excuses for spinach dishes. Oh, but these are lovely to look at. Check out the recently watered Spinach bed.

Save the best for the last, goes a famous song… So, now, do you want to know, who watered these darling green souls? My gardeners come very cheap. They only need snacks, juices, shakes, cuddles, hugs and lots and lots of love. No, they are taken. You cannot hire them J ;)

[**Left: My son ** Right: His best friend**]

They both claimed in a sheer moment of joy that they would like to grow up and be farmers. Huh? Excuse me? Really, would you like that, I asked. They said that since they love watering plants, they might as well do it when they grow up. Kid’s joy and enthusiasm is just so contagious.

I am gearing up for more plants, pictures, enthusiasm in the coming seasons and hopefully lesser excuses to the DDH dude. The husband hopefully appreciates it.

4 Responses to “My fancy garden and cute gardeners”

  1. Shalini June 1, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    You should share this video friend – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1IV10M1RbEA – if you are a real lover of trees

  2. Mamma_Simona June 1, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    I so relate! :) I love and respect plants …. sadly I’m no good at keeping them alive! The only plant (so far) that is flourishing is a Basil “tree” in my lounge! Every once in a while the leaves begin to curl and we realise it’s thirsty. This amazingly resiliant plant just requires water and rewards us with more leaves than we could ever use in salads and sauces! :)

    • Purnima June 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      I love basil leaves. Here in India it also has a religious significance.
      Basil is good for sore throat, cold and cough. We have one too. I really love it :)
      I am glad you have a basil plant at home.

  3. carol August 26, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    Love your banana tree! Being a farmer’s wife, I have often thought how nice it would be to pick a fresh banana off a tree. We pick lots of berries, peaches, and other fruits, but bananas don’t grow where we live. I think your darling green gardeners have the right idea! Keep encouraging them.

Leave a Reply

