The Homecoming

20 Apr

The Homecoming

The homecoming

The homecoming

And one day, I stilled this, the mind.

She had kept chattering all day long.

Suddenly, the heart said – stop. It did.

And the music and dance stopped.

 *

But the stars twinkled mischievously

And the moon searched for my song.

The skies knew of the elusive illusions.

And I was still for the universe to fill me.

 *

The wind carried my perfume everywhere.

The stars and moon and sun were happy.

They treasured my song’s seed.

and drank of my dancing cup too.

 *

I did not crave for these delusions of mirth.

How do I tell them of my need?

When infinity and bliss waits for you,

do you need trivialities of frolic and regret?

 *

And I was languishing in my own wait,

for the worlds were waiting for something too.

And I suddenly realised, and gave it up all.

I couldn’t withhold my treasures.

 *

For the universe comes to those,

who trust her with all their faith and love,

and surrender everything else, she has already offered.

For, to the giver, comes the homecoming, the original abode.

 ***

9 Responses to “The Homecoming”

  1. Praveen April 20, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    A different read.

    [afterthought] most of your poems has the “god” factor in it. is this intentional?

  2. The Alchemist April 20, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Well Praveen, I would not “call it a “god” factor. Maybe you could sense a higher element.

    Oh, but read this – http://myworldrevolvesaroundyou.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/a-beloveds-wait/

  3. shikhadeepak April 21, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    very nice….

  4. Ruth May 15, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    A beautiful piece…

  5. Ruth May 15, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    A beautiful piece!

  6. still a dreamer May 30, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    This poem is just exquisite. Thank you for sharing it.
    jeanne

Leave a Reply

